Hobbit Sauce IPA

It’s time to start writing again, it’s been too long. I will be writing about my brewing, my beer travels and any other whim that pops into my head.

There’s a beer competition my Homebrew club puts on every year called the IPA Bracket Challenge where each beer by category goes head to head until there’s a best of show winner. I’ll have a couple of beers brewed up for this, but the one I brewed up last weekend is the one I’m most excited about. I call it Hobbit Sauce. I wrote a recipe to showcase the best of the hops of Middle Earth. The rich floral, fruity aromas of hops like Motueka, Nelson Sauvin, and Pacific Gem will hopefully make for an interesting and good beer. I can just imagine sitting in the Green Dragon sipping on a pint with some friends and reminiscing on adventures past.hobbitbeer

I’m all about sharing so here’s a link to my recipe. Hobbit Sauce

It’s happily chugging along in the fermenter and it tasted pretty good coming out of he boil kettle. I’ll do a couple of more dry hop additions to really layer on the hop aroma.

I also just kegged my house IPA Mjolnir. This IPA uses copious amounts of my favorite hops, Citra, Amarillo, and Cascade. Here’s the base recipe Mjolnir I always make a few tweaks with the hops but the grain bill is the same.

Well, there’s my first post. Thanks for reading and cheers

20121213-195944.jpg
I made hop tea before brewing to figure out how to best use these new hops

About Matt Smith


Leave a comment